top of page
  • Jakin Chen

感恩节与我


 


 

每年的感恩节,学校都放两天假。感恩节那天,妈妈,爸爸也会准备

很多美食-感恩节大餐。外公,外婆总是早地来我们家帮忙准备;舅舅

,舅母和表姐,表弟也来我们家过节,他们会烤一个大大的火鸡带来

在餐桌上,爸爸,妈妈和舅舅,舅母会分别各自的工作;选择我们在

学校的学习生活;还有就是房地产市场和各类投资机会。在那个场合

,爸爸和妈妈常常会把餐桌上的话题引向福音与信仰。

记得有一次,爸爸从美国的繁荣与机会,已经了美国相对自由公平的

制度;又从这个制度回归到了百年前开国先贤的立国理念,清教徒的

基督信仰和感恩节的来历;说明富裕的生活固然令人向往,但是人的

生命并不在于家道丰富。

表姐和表弟都非常优秀,也爱和我们一起玩。饭后,表姐,表弟还有

我和弟弟会先离开餐桌,玩游戏,下棋,轮流演奏钢琴和小提琴;我

和表姐正在讨论感恩节的晚上我们还常去教会,或去教会弟兄姐妹家

中聚餐,分享,数算上帝的恩典。

感恩节里,和表姐,表弟在一起的时光很开心!今年由于疫情,或许

无法像往年一样聚在一起过节,但感谢赐平安的上帝留给我们生命的

气息,让我们随时可以电话,视频,通过线上聚会彼此问候勉励。

爸爸妈妈常说,《圣经》让我们「要常常喜乐。不住地祷告。凡事谢

恩。因为这是神在基督耶稣里向你们所定的意图意。」(《帖撒罗尼

迦前书》五章16 -18节)最近我体会到,其实每天都有值得我感恩的事

,而不是仅在感恩节那天感恩。

向上帝感恩,因他给我生命气息,又给我一个温暖的家,因着生我养

我的爸爸,妈妈,我可以无忧无虑地生活,还给我的玩伴-我的弟弟,


虽然有时我们会争吵,然而我知道我们实在是好兄弟。也要向帮助我

们的人感恩。

感恩是一种美德,让我知足而不贪心;让我更懂得爱而乐于助人;更让我

认识爱的源头 - 上帝就是爱我愿为我们所居住的纽约祷告,为美国祷

告,为当选的总统祷告;也求上帝再次赐下恩典和怜悯,让疫情赶快

过去,我和表姐表弟再次面对面地一起玩。

 

Every year on Thanksgiving, the school has two days off. On Thanksgiving Day, mom and dad will also prepare a lot of food. Grandpa and grandma always come to our house early to help prepare; uncle, aunt and cousin, cousin also come to our house for the holidays, they will roast a big turkey to bring. At the dinner table, father, mother, uncle, and aunt share their experiences of their past year; discuss our study and life at school; there is also the real estate market and various investment opportunities. On that occasion, father and mother often lead the topic on the table to the gospel and faith.


I remember once, from the prosperity and opportunities of the United States, Dad was discussing how America has already gained a relatively free and fair system in the United States; and from this system, has returned to the country’s ideas of the founding fathers a hundred years ago and the ideas of the Christian faith of the Puritans and the origins of Thanksgiving which show that while richness in life is indeed desirable, ones life does not lie in the richness of the family. My cousins are quite smart and love to play with us. After the meal, my cousin, my cousin, and my brother and I will leave the table first, play games, play chess, and take turns playing the piano, viola, and violin.


On Thanksgiving, I had a great time with my cousin and cousin! This year, due to the epidemic, we may not be able to gather together for the holidays like in previous years, but we are grateful to the God of peace for the breath of life that has left us, so that we can always greet and encourage each other through phone calls, videos, and online meetings.


Recently, I have come to realize that, in fact, there are things that I am grateful for every day, not just on Thanksgiving Day. I am grateful to God, because he gave me the breath of life, and gave me a warm home, because of the birth and support of my father and mother, I can live without worry, and give back to my playmate-my brother. Although sometimes we quarrel, I know that deep down we are really good brothers. At the same time, I also learn to be grateful to those who help us. Gratitude is a virtue that makes me content and not greedy; it makes me more aware of love and willing to help others. This year, we are praying for New York where we live, praying for America, and praying for the to-be elected The President; while also at the same time asking God to grant grace and mercy again to let the epidemic pass quickly.

 

Photo citation:https://www.merriam-webster.com/words-at-play/autumn-vs-fall

bottom of page